BenefitWallet Reviews

Show reviews that mention
customer service account service customer benefit wallet money hsa wallet check business
Filter review
New Reviewer
Explore video interviews
Update by user May 07, 2018

After talking to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), Benefit Wallet promised to waive the $25 fee. Several weeks later, they haven't waived the fee. Do they lie to the BBB as shamelessly as to their customers, or is it just extreme incompetence?

Original review posted by user Apr 04, 2018
Benefit Wallet (BW)...
View full review
View full review
3 comments
#1520115

Alejandro again. Benefit Wallet kept its promise and refunded the $25 fee in early May. It took some time and effort, but kudos to Benefit Wallet for doing the right thing AND letting me know about it.

View more comments
Featured
ID
#1226486 Review #1226486 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Benefitwallet Health Savings Account
Pros
  • Should be shut down go out of business
Cons
  • Unresponsive and non-existent service and follow thru-up
  • Overall business practice is morally and legally corrupt
  • Website login design is pathetic
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$785
Preferred solution
Full refund
Most helpful review
New Reviewer
I have had it since I retired at 65. Now I am 72. If you have had bad luck with it it is because your not using it right. I pay all my co-payments with it. All over the counter items for medicine & personal hygiene products. Two summers ago I started major dental...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#2060238

Nothing to do with luck, dealing with their CS is incredibly aggravating. I was told via their own activation line for a debit card that if this was a replacement card I wouldn't need to pick a new PIN.

Entering my card number bounces you back to CS who then sends you back to the same number, saying it's your phone or to use a landline.

All not true as when I entered a different number it registered it as an invalid number. I doubt that all of the 1 star reviews are people "doing it wrong", so don't assume that you know what everyone else's experience is

View more comments
ID
#2343370 Review #2343370 is a subjective opinion of poster.

They don't pick up

I called their number and I pressed a button to talk to someone. The someone was a recording asking me How can I help? Then it cycled that 2 more times and then said since I didn't they were going to hang up. It was a recording the whole time. Sneaky. I have had troubles in the past. They charge me 3.25 a month for maintenance and give me 7 cents in interested.

User's recommendation: Steer clear of this company or bail as soon as you can.

View full review
ID
#2867241 Review #2867241 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Arlington, Virginia
New Reviewer

Awful company and CS

I had to replace my debit card and when I attempted to activate it over the automated line, I was told on the line that I wouldn't need to set a new PIN. apparently not the case as when Attempting to use the PIN for transaction, it is declined. Contacted CS who said to use the automated line and said it was my phone (3 diff phones, same result). Opened a case and told I can use my card as credit..nope now it's restricted! And forget speaking to someone in the US.

User's recommendation: Stay away if possible, ask for a US representative so that at least there isn't as much of a language barrier.

View full review
ID
#2856774 Review #2856774 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Poor quality website
  • Unresponsive and non-existent service and follow thru-up
  • Fees and notifications
Preferred solution
Make my debit card usable and able to use a PIN, not take 7 business days for an ACH Xfer when every other bank does it overnight

Continual monthly statements

This acct closed 2018****. Why do I still receive statements? Your company is wasting; paper, envelopes, ink, printer, postage, etc. Please get rid of my acct i#980010****1301. The post office is tired of wasting their time forwarding this to my new address!

User's recommendation: Wasteful Company.

View full review
ID
#2462129 Review #2462129 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Laguna Woods, California

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Benefitwallet is unethical

I closed my HSA Feb 2020. There was a remaining balance unknown to me. I found out in Jan 2021 they had been charging me monthly "maintenance fees" on a closed account (yes, the account when I call and log in online says closed). The customer service rep said he would request the fees to be refunded, but I had to call back next week to close my closed account and request a check. I called back the following week...yup, no refund...but they charged me again, how nice right? What a scam. I wonder what they are "maintaining" on closed accounts to justify this unethical business practice of charging "maintenance fees."

User's recommendation: stay far away.

View full review
ID
#2405878 Review #2405878 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Unethicallly Run. Poor Customer Service

Update by user Jan 27, 2021

Finally talked to a very helpful rep who was able to get me reimbursed within 24 hours..

Original review posted by user Jan 23, 2021
I am a customer of theirs. I am supposed to receive a reimbursement payment of $1,350. I made the request on January 5th. It was processed on January 8th. It has been "processing" since that time. I have called three times about it, messaged them twice and emailed them once. They have not replied to any written inquiries. Each time I speak with someone, they tell me it's because of the Holidays (Christmas and New Years have come and gone BEFORE January 8th), or they say, "It should be there later today", which of course hasn't happened. All I want is my money reimbursed. I feel as if they are keeping it from me on purpose so they don't have to part with it.

User's recommendation: Stay away if offered to you.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#2392763 Review #2392763 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Benefitwallet Health Savings Account
Pros
  • Use of a debit card and checks to pay medical bills
  • Easy to sign up
Cons
  • Customers service
  • Reimbursement failure
Loss
$1350
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

No call back

I spoke to someone Saturday late afternoon as to why my Fsa acct was locked. I pd the money owed 48.00 on 10/27 back to my FSA but apparently someone cancelled transaction on 11/5. I checked my bank statement and the 48.00 was not removed from my acct. contact page said you were open till 11. I finally was able to get to talk to a rep when message said closes at 6:30. I need to use this money before 12/31 and am unable. Someone was to have contacted me today
View full review
ID
#2291111 Review #2291111 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Product
Benefitwallet Flexible Spending Account
Cons
  • Customers service
  • Customer service
Preferred solution
Unlock my card and contact me like you were supposed to

Still waiting for a requested reimbursement

This is the second time that I requested a reimbursement from BenefitWallet and just like the first time, the funds became unavailable in my account and I still do not have the money transferred to my bank account over a week later.

User's recommendation: Choose a different HSA provider if possible.

View full review
1 comment
#1976200

EXACTLY what I'm going through right now! Did you finally get it resolved?

ID
#2193781 Review #2193781 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Newark, Ohio
New Reviewer

Service

I have a recurring problem with setting up auto debit. Their system kicks it out and you can not get anyone on the phone that can actually help. They keep on trying to walk me through the same interface that is causing the problem in the first place.

User's recommendation: No, find another HSA vender.

View full review
ID
#2186563 Review #2186563 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Benefitwallet Money Transfer
Pros
  • Should be shut down go out of business
Cons
  • Customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Difficulty accessing account

I have had 3 debit cards sent to me and have not been able to activate them on the service without spending time with customer service. I needed a new security mailed to me so I could order the card. When trying too activate the card, they needed the security code again. Meanwhile they keep charging me for paper statements while I am trying to use this account to pay off a large hospital bill. Thanks for nothing Benefit Wallet

User's recommendation: Use another provider.

View full review
ID
#2150631 Review #2150631 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Oakland, Maryland

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Refusal of Service

Reported fraud on my account 1 year ago. They told me their fraud claim process was 60 days. Kept calling for information and being told I would receive a call back or someone would reach out to me and no one ever did each time speaking to at least 3-4 people before I later on started asking for a manager. Eight months in I find out that the fraud claims investigator never started the investigation and then lied and said I never sent in the affidavit. Then all-of-a-sudden the investigator had my information and is looking into it a couple days later. Gave them some time to research and then Covid hit the nation so I let it sit allowing them more time to resolve. Now at a year later (4 months later) I call since still no one called me to find out from a manager that they closed the investigation. They don't know why, but they have been holding up the process. This manager that seemed so invested in resolving the fraud claim tells me she will call me back and scheduled a time with me. I waited half the day before calling then to get told they can't transfer to a manager. I told them I just was last week and told them to send me to the rep that transferred me to her before. Then this guy, Nick from the fraud team that I had spoken to 3 times before within the past year, put me on hold to transfer me. He then says he can't transfer me to his manager who didn't call me back because they can't transfer and he will put in another request for a call back. I said that is what you all have been doing for a full year. I asked him what he would do if he got treated this way....I said I am your customer (have been for several years) and I am telling you this has gone on long enough being lied to about getting a call back and then transferred around. I have over $17K to put in the account for a fertility procedure my husband and I have been saving up for and can't put it in there because they haven't resolved the fraud claim and owe me money. They don't have any customer service training that is on par with the industry including the lack of knowing how to handle escalated situations. Their call script for their agents is not all-inclusive enough to guide them because they never know what to say, do or even know where/when to ask for assistance with the call. I have almost 20 years in customer service experience and have as a customer myself dealt with many other inexcusable service experiences, but nothing and I mean nothing compared to the incompetence of the BenefitWallet customer service/care and fraud teams. A full year of chasing them and 15 people in (including managers and not including the multiple times of speaking to the same people) and I am still at day one with this claim and no call back from them.

User's recommendation: Do all that you can to avoid having to call them for anything.

View full review
1 comment
#1966297

This is pretty Much my exact experience with benefit wallet. They listen to you , then you get enveloped with a series of long holds, attempted transfers “I do apologize “ said so many times it becomes frustrating to hear.

Promises of call backs with no follow up. Calls never made. Trouble understanding their language accents.

Many work out of their home and there is no capacity to involve or escalate a case any further up. So frustrating.

ID
#1975477 Review #1975477 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Benefitwallet Health Savings Account
Pros
  • Updated website
Cons
  • Lack of communication lack of sense of urgency with cust funds
  • Lack of service processes lack of follow through and follow up
Loss
$108
Preferred solution
Full refund
My sister and I phoned in today because my sister is now POA for our 88-year-old father. My sister had tried sending in the POA paperwork by mail to the address on the paperwork received in the mail and it came back undeliverable. We decided to call in to get...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1914419 Review #1914419 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kaukauna, Wisconsin

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Terrible customer service and unwillingness to help

Changed companies about 8 months ago and have a new HSA account. Twice I tried to get reimbursed for remaining amount of funds to pay a doctor bill. Both times the check was delivered to me, but when the bank tried to cash it BenefitWallet put a Non-sufficient funds on the check. They somehow charged me a $3 maintenance fee from the time the checks were cut to when the bank tried to cash them. They then charged another $25 fee for the NSF. Customer service claimed they would help to get the refunds and close the account. Well they did nothing. I am on my third try to get the remaining funds back. Pretty sure they will just keep this process up until there is no money left in the account for them to take.

User's recommendation: Find a different service if at all possible. Sometimes impossible if your company only uses Benefit Wallet.

View full review
ID
#1909178 Review #1909178 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$56
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer
The call was never answered and dropped
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#1856907

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with our call center. Our service management team would like to learn more about your specific situation and research your concerns.

If you would send a private message with your contact information to us at info. mybenefitwallet at conduent. com, one of our senior service managers would be eager to get in touch with you. We look forward to connecting with you and working towards providing your resolution and restoring satisfaction.

In response to COVID-19, our Service Center hours are now M-F, 10 am- 6:30 pm ET. We anticipate longer wait times and greatly appreciate your patience. For quickest service, please consider self-service tools on our website or mobile app.

For most efficient payment and processing of current expenses, please use your BenefitWallet debit card (if applicable). Thank you for your patience.

View more comments
ID
#1896551 Review #1896551 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Thousand Oaks, California
Tried to close account and use all proceeds for medical bills in an HSA. THEY WOULD NOT DISTRIBUTE THE FULL AMOUNT and left $100 in account and then started charging fees to "maintain" the amount they refused to distribute. Ended up overpaying on medical bills and the...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1845376

- We apologize if your experience with your HSA was anything other than exceptional. This remains our goal, so we would like to clarify and bring positive resolution for you.

For general information BenefitWallet does not "refuse to distribute" funds from a member's account. There are multiple options to use HSA funds or empty the account. An account holder can use their paper checks, use the debit card at a provider or ATM, or issue a DirectPay payment or paper check from the account website access. Had you called us about your Trustee-to-Trustee transfer request, the agent would have been able to request a copy of the transfer out form as well as the check copy.

If the check was not cashed, they could have put a stop on the check and had it re-issued. Our service management team would like to learn more about your specific situation and research your concerns. If you would send a private message with your contact information to us at info.

mybenefitwallet at conduent.com, one of our senior service managers would be eager to get in touch with you. We look forward to connecting with you and working towards providing your resolution and restoring satisfaction.

ID
#1845542 Review #1845542 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Northfield, Minnesota

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I was new to benefit wallet as it was provided through my new employer. I rarely go to a physician for anything, no prescription medications, in overall extremely healthy condition. All honesty had forgotten I even had the account as it was opened last year with my new...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1842621

-We apologize if your experience with your HSA was anything other than exceptional. This remains our goal so we would like to clarify to bring positive resolution for you.

Please note if your account is not set to paper statements then BenefitWallet sends statement reminders by way of email. If you do not update your contact information with us then you may not receive these notices. To help fight the funding of terrorism and money-laundering activities in the United States, the Federal Government established the USA Patriot Act, after September 2001. It requires all financial institutions that open accounts to obtain, verify and record information that identifies individuals and entities that engage in any financial transactions with or through the bank.

Participants may be required to submit identification documents to the bank in order to open their HSA. Members who are identified through screening are sent correspondence requesting additional information to verify identity. The member will receive two requests and a final notice that the account will be closed in approximately 90 days from enrollment. Due to privacy considerations, notification is only sent to the member.

This screening is done when the account is first set up or when you change your address (or personal information). If you failed the screening when the account was initially set up then it would never have been open and no contributions would have been able to post to the account. If you failed the screening when the account was already open, and there were prior deposits, then the balance would have been sent to you in a bank issued check. In regards to the "unclaimed property": All states require financial institutions to report when personal property has been unclaimed after a period of time specified by state law.

When money lies dormant in a deposit account after this time specified, the bank is required to turn it over to the state. This is called escheatment. If you do not respond to the escheatment notices, state laws require we close the account and turn the funds over to the state. Please note the state does not consider interest earned on your account to be "account activity".

Escheatment would apply to you if your HSA had a remaining balance after a set number of years of no activity. If your account was just "opened last year", it is unheard of that it would go through escheatment in that short amount of time. Our service management team would like to learn more about your specific situation and research your concerns.

If you would send a private message with your contact information to us at info.mybenefitwallet at conduent.com, one of our senior service managers would be eager to get in touch with you. We look forward to connecting with you and working towards providing your resolution and restoring satisfaction.

ID
#1831502 Review #1831502 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • None that i see
Loss
$583
Preferred solution
Full refund

Brands Related to BenefitWallet

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article